PHAstics

PHAstics – PHA based plastic

We bring back the love of plastics!

Plastic waste is found in every part of the world! In the meantime, we have produced enough plastics to wrap our entire planet six times in plastic wrap. And this plastic waste will remain for centuries…

.. but still we all love plastics. Plastics were developed to realize the dreams of humanity and we can no longer imagine a life without them. Saphium Biotechnology brings back the love of plastic!

We develop completely natural, non-toxic and compostable bioplastics in microorganisms. These PHAs (polyhydroxyalkanoates) based bioplastics are waterproof, durable in sterile and dry environments and degraded in the soil after 180 days. PHAs have thermoplastic properties and can be processed using common processes such as injection molding and blow extrusion.


PHAs – natural polymer

PHAs are found in nature in 70% of terrestrial and in 30% of aquatic life forms. There they serve as energy stores, similar to fats in animals or starch in plants. In those microorganisms in which they occur in large quantities, they can be produced from sugars, oils or other high-energy compounds.

We use hydrogen and carbon dioxide as building blocks. We extract carbon dioxide from the air or from industrial exhaust streams and we produce hydrogen with electricity from renewable energy sources via electrolysis.

The production of 1 kg of plastic according to this process would remove 2 kg of carbon dioxide from the air. If we were to replace all global plastic production, 6% fewer carbon dioxide would be produced worldwide.

As plastic consumption continues to increase, more than 20% of the world’s carbon dioxide emissions would be reduced by replacing plastic with PHAstics by 2050.


Adresse

Saphium Biotechnology GmbH Kapfenstein 105 8353 Kapfenstein office(at)saphium.eu Österreich

Service

AGB und Widerrufsrecht
Datenschutzbelehrung
Impressum

PHAstics

PHAstics – PHA basiertes Plastik

Wir bringen die Liebe zu Kunststoff zurück!

Plastikmüll wird in jedem Teil der Welt gefunden! Mittlerweile haben wir genug Plastik produziert um unseren gesamten Planeten sechs mal in Plastikfolie einzuhüllen. Und dieser Plastikmüll bleibt über Jahrhunderte bestehen…

.. aber dennoch lieben wir alle Plastik. Kunststoffe wurden entwickelt um die Träume der Menschheit zu verwirklichen und wir können uns nicht mehr ein Leben ohne sie vorstellen. Saphium Biotechnology bringt die Liebe zu Kunststoff zurück!

Wir entwickeln komplett natürliches, ungiftiges und kompostierbares Bioplastik in Mikroorganismen. Diese PHA (Polyhydroxyalkanoate) basierten Biokunststoffe sind wasserfest, in steriler und trockener Umgebung haltbar und nach 180 Tagen im Boden abgebaut. PHAs haben thermoplastische Eigenschaften und können mit gängigen Verfahren, wie Spritzguss und Blasextrusion verarbeitet werden.


PHAs – natürliches Polymer

PHAs kommen in der Natur in 70% der terrestrischen und in 30% der aquatischen Lebewesen vor. Dort dienen sie als Energiespeicher, ähnlich wie Fette in Tieren oder Stärke in Pflanzen. In jenen Mikroorganismen in denen sie in großer Menge vorkommen, können sie über Zufuhr von Zucker, Öle oder andere energiereiche Verbindungen angereichert werden.

Wir verwenden als Bausteine Wasserstoff und Kohlendioxid. Kohlendioxid holen wir uns aus der Luft oder aus industriellen Abgasströmen und Wasserstoff produzieren wir mit Strom aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen über Elektrolyse.

Die Produktion von 1 kg Kunststoff nach diesem Verfahren würde 2 kg Kohlendioxid aus der Luft entfernen. Sollten wir die gesamte weltweite Kunststoffproduktion ersetzen würde weltweit 6% weniger Kohlendioxid erzeugt werden.

Da der Kunststoffverbrauch kontinuierlich zunimmt würden im Jahr 2050 bereits über 20% des weltweiten Kohlendioxidausstoßes durch den Ersatz von Plastik mit PHAstik reduziert werden.


Adresse

Saphium Biotechnology GmbH Kapfenstein 105 8353 Kapfenstein office(at)saphium.eu Österreich

Service

AGB und Widerrufsrecht
Datenschutzbelehrung
Impressum